Ruby Jades Diary: Snow White Queen

Me and my big mouth.

So, yeah, the next place I was sent to was Hoth.  And, you know, this one was kinda a let down.  Before I was sent to cause an uprising and free Balmorra, and defend a critical research station.  On Hoth, they wanted me to … give some of their troops a hand with some pirates.  And when I got down there there was pretty much only one small group left and they wanted to leave.  Huh.

Anyway, the big issue was that there was some pirate captain who claimed that he couldn’t be killed.  So I took that as a challenge and went out to kill him.  And I did.  But then he called us up and basically said “Fooled you!” and started doing all his crazy stuff again.  And we’d told the men that we’d killed him and when they found out they were ticked off and tried to kill their lieutenant and run off.  They probably would have tried to kill me, too, and so I would have had to kill them which would have left a mess.  And I hate messes.  So we had to settle things.

But we had an advantage.  I’d found out that he had found a special armour that healed him when he too damage, and it was so good at it that it could bring him back from death.  But it turned out that the way to defeat it was to kill him over and over again until the system was overloaded and couldn’t save him.

And it wasn’t even my birthday!

So we pointed that out to them and then found out that he was trying to raise one of the ancient ships in a ship graveyard on Hoth, which was the only reason that anyone would come to this ice ball.  So the lieutenant and his men went to attack the engines to keep it grounded while I went to kill the pirate guy over and over and over again.

Along the way, I had to face some Imperials who wanted to kill him and take the armour back.  They decided to start by killing me first.  That was stupid for a whole bunch of reasons.  Even if they had been able to kill me, I was going to take some of them with me and that would leave them with a weakened force to take the pirate guy on with.  And, of course, they were facing me which wasn’t a good idea.

So after I killed all of them, I moved on to killing the pirate guy.  He was all arrogant that there was nothing I could do to stop him until he realized that we’d blown up his engines and he wasn’t going to get off the ground.  At that point, he tried to kill me.  And I kept beating the stuffing out of him until his armour failed and he finally died.  Too good for ‘im I say!

And it turns out that having to help the troops do their job was the theme of Hoth, because the base there was in poor shape.  They had people out in the field that they couldn’t find.  Their Talz troopers had their communications cut off and didn’t now what to do.  The Ortolans miners had told the Empire how to blow up the mines and the base.  All things that the normal troops should be able to handle.

But the troops didn’t like the cold.  In fact, one of them decided to try to betray me to get off the planet.  When I figured it out and killed off his ambush party, he tried to plead with me not to kill him.  I was curious to see what excuse he’d come up with, so I paused to give him a chance to plead his case.  But I was disappointed.  All he came up with was that between the cold and the Imperials the only way off on the Republic side was in a body bag, and he wanted to avoid that.  But, of course, by betraying me he ended up guaranteeing that he’d leave Hoth in the body bag.  And, hey, I honour my guarantees.

Again, I’m not a nice person.

And keep that in mind, because there was a big power station that the Empire was going to take over, and the Republic officer in charge wanted me to blow it up.  I went there and found that the Ortolans had built it and wanted to keep it for after everyone left.  While I let them plead their case, the Imperials attacked.  I fought them off — I didn’t want to see the little guys killed — and they took that as a sign that I wasn’t going to blow it up after all and promised to set it up with automated defenses so that the Imperials would never get it.  I let them have it.  I kinda thought blowing the thing up was kinda stupid anyway.

But I’m still not a nice person.

The last thing I had to deal with was a general who was building another superweapon.  And again he’d had it stolen, this time by pirates.  So I had to retrieve the parts and hunt the pirates down for the plans.  Turns out when I got there they pirates had already made copies, but the tech involved said we could use the prototype to fry everything.  Since I didn’t want pirates to get that kind of superweapon, I went with it.  I figured the general would be ticked off, but he was surprisingly okay with it, figuring they could rebuild the weapon and that it wasn’t a good idea for the pirates to get a hold of it.  Huh.  A sensible, jovial general.  He still seemed to have caught the “We need superweapons!” disease of the rest of the Republic military, but there’s hope for him yet.

Anyway, after that I headed back to my ship to get warmed up and get some rest.  Because nothing serious was going to happen any time soon.

Tags:

Leave a comment