New story …

So, last year Malcolm the Cynic put out a call for stories for a King Arthur anthology called “Tales of the Once and Future King”. Since I have some interest in writing, I mused about writing something for it. However, I misread the word count, and thought that it had to be between 500 – 1000 words instead of between 500 – 10000 words, which would have left out most of my original ideas; I am, as noted, fairly verbose. But since I can’t turn my mind off, I started musing about ideas for something shorter that might fit into that word count, and came up with an idea. But I didn’t do it for the anthology, for two reasons:

1) I read after that it was aimed at the juvenile market, and while I thought the idea would work I didn’t really want to get involved with that.

2) I was insanely busy at the time and so didn’t even have the time to prepare something.

But the idea remained in my head, and now that I’m trying to make an effort to add writing back into my schedule I decided that a good way to start would be to finally write the story down. The story is in its own page here. As it turns out, WordPress says that it comes in at slightly under 500 words, but I don’t really see how adding more here would make it more interesting, so I’m leaving it at that.

Enjoy! Or not. It’s totally up to you.

Leave a Reply

