I Hate Vacation …

So, I have a long vacation coming up. It wasn’t supposed to be that long, but work pressures caused me to move some scheduled vacation in November to December, when things were calmer. Which just reminds of how much I hate vacation.

No, I don’t mean that I hate being on vacation. I am not so attached to my job that I wouldn’t rather not be there when given the chance. And right now, because things have been so busy, there are are a lot of things that I haven’t had the time to do that I really want to do. Like play Knights of the Fallen Empire, Bloodlines, and maybe something else. Like do some writing. Like do some little programming projects, maybe even learning this new thing that’s supposed to come to work next year. I’ve been busy enough at work that I’m both tired of it and tired of not being able to do the things that I want to do. So actually being off is a good thing.

But I have enough vacation and enough work to do that scheduling vacation is always an issue.

So, I’ve worked out this year, and not quite in the way I wanted, but it will do. So I take this vacation and then, when I get back … I have to start thinking about when to take vacation again. I’ll probably want to do something in the spring, but that will depend on what I’m working on and when things are due. Which I don’t know yet. I’ve looked at the releases and so have a rough idea of what might work, but then again due to deadlines I might get a project for an off-release, like I did right now, which will change that. I don’t really want to take vacation in the summer, and I don’t really only want to take a week’s vacation — I tried that this summer and it didn’t work that well for me — so that means finding some 2 week, at least, blocks.

I don’t want to have to think that much about my vacation, but my manager refuses to just schedule it for me. So it’s left up to me. As I’ve noted before, managing my vacation is like an RTS, but without anything that makes it fun while you’re playing it. So it’s like an RTS where the fun only happens after you’ve finished playing the game for a month or so.

Anyway, I’ll work it out. I always do. But it’s an annoyance that most people wish they had. Which is why they’ll never have that annoyance.

Leave a Reply

