What I Did on my Christmas Vacation

I had a fairly long — if still a bit short by my standards — December vacation this year, and as per usual I didn’t get what I wanted to get done done, both due to my own general laziness and due to a number of things coming up that cut into my time. So, what did I do and what didn’t I do?

I managed to get into working with Javascript and HTML, but didn’t quite get as much accomplished as I wanted due to something coming up that took up some time, finding out that TOR had a double XP event on, and the fact that once you stop doing something it’s really, really hard to get started on it again. So it’s not quite even done, let alone done to the degree that I wanted to do it. Maybe I’ll pick it up again a bit over the next little while.

But what I did learn a fair bit about how to do those languages, which was pretty much the purpose anyway. What I really learned is that building an application UI in HTML is like doing it in Java, only more so. With Java, since most of the things are built-in it all works until you want to do something that the Java classes weren’t quite meant to do, at which point it becomes a massive struggle. With HTML, the same thing applies … except that HTML is meant to produce web pages, not actual UIs, and so everything is trying to get it to do something it wasn’t meant to do. I had little trouble with Javascript, but some issues with HTML. I managed to hack something in that mostly worked, combining straight HTML with CSS, and now know what all of those do and what they’re for, kinda. So that’s something, anyway.

I also managed to make great progress in The Old Republic, which was the secondary main distraction for me over the break, taking over two full days where I probably should have been doing something else, at least for part of the day. But I managed to massively overlevel a Trooper, and finish my Bounty Hunter and my Jedi Knight, which means that I’ve finished 6 of the 8 class stories. I want to finish the Trooper and Agent stories sometime in the next year.

After a very slow start, I also managed to play some non-TOR games. I finished Akiba’s Trip and also started playing Conception II again, mostly because that game gives me what Akiba’s Trip didn’t: deeper relationships, for the most part. I didn’t, however, manage to get anywhere in Inquisition, which isn’t good. But given my history, I’ll get it finished sometime in the New Year.

I got quite deep in Dallas; I’m on season five already. Only about another 5 months until I’m finished.

I didn’t write as many blog posts as I wanted to, but I’m a little ahead so that’s not too bad.

I didn’t manage to get any traction at all on writing my fanfic, which is something that I really wanted to do. Hopefully I can do that in the New Year.

So, not too bad, but not great either. I got a lot of things that I wanted to get done done, but the big things other than TOR didn’t really get done. Ah, well.

Leave a Reply

