More of my favourites: one shots and one hit wonders

As part of a BSG board game that I’m playing, I got “It Must Have Been Love” stuck in my head, which reminded me of more of my favourite songs. Roxette’s not really a one-hit wonder for me, as I’ve liked a number of their song and albums in the past … but it did remind me of songs that would indeed count.

Like “Take My Breath Away” by Berlin. Which is actually an odd case because the Top Gun soundtrack is, in general, amazing, and even for me Berlin had an I think much less famous song that I also really liked “No More Words”.

This really ought to have been a candidate for the Top 10, because I’ve liked it for a long time: “She Blinded Me With Science” by Thomas Dolby. Interestingly, I once ran into someone on City of Heroes who based his character on Thomas Dolby, and we did the “Science!” part in passing.

I also do like “Rock Me Amadeus” by Falco, but that’s mostly for the chorus.

I also like “One Night in Bangkok” by Murray Head, which has a nice mix of chorus and … whatever it is you call the thing in-between the choruses (stanzas).

I like the original “Land of Confusion” by Genesis, and the Spitting Image video has good nostalgia value, but in a rare case for me I think I like the harder Disturbed version better. It fits the lyrics better.

I’ve only ever heard two songs by Ah-ha, I think: “Take On Me” and “The Living Daylights”, and I’ve liked them both.

There’s also, oddly, Ace of Base. The song I heard first and liked was of course “The Sign”, but I have to mention “Waiting for Magic”, which was the inspiration for this short story.

And finally, another song that maybe should have made the top 10: “Major Tom” by Peter Schilling (not the David Bowie song).

Leave a Reply

