With this post …

… I have now posted a post a day for an entire month. I started on Sunday, October 5th, and today is Wednesday, November 5th. I had hoped to at least manage that, and it’s good that I did.

What I’m finding so far is that while doing this keeps the blog in my mind more, and that writing posts for it has gone up in importance for me, it hasn’t taken over my life either. It’s there in my mind, I schedule it, and I think about extending my posts out when I get the chance, but I’m not constantly thinking “Gotta write a post, gotta write a post, gotta write a post” or taking time away from other things to do it. I’ve so far been able to slot it in at various times, and have even not written posts in my scheduled times.

I doubt this would survive my going on a longer vacation, though. Which is strange because that’s exactly when I have the time to write posts, but usually I get distracted by other things.

Anyway, I still have stuff to talk about, so this isn’t ending yet. We’ll see how far it goes.

7 Responses to “With this post …”

  1. dernostalgischetyp Says:

    keep it goin 😀

  2. Héctor Muñoz Huerta Says:

    Here:

    http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/10/the-cold-logic-of-drunk-people/381908/

    • verbosestoic Says:

      Missed that one, but it’s a pretty bad experiment, because it doesn’t check their actual ability to make moral decisions. They might be more willing to hurt or take aggressive action against people in the service of some perceived good, that might be in the second trolley case pushing the person in front of the train but might also be stealing from someone if that person had something they really wanted and couldn’t get. Without looking at the overall context of drunken reasoning and behaviour, you can’t really draw any conclusions about the psychological issues, let alone the philosophical ones. Remember, trolley cases don’t prove Utilitarianism right or wrong, but just say things about our intuitions about moral issues.

      Speaking as a Stoic, I’d say that since reasoning is impaired while drunk this is the worst time to try to get consistent and reasonable moral judgements from people.

      In short, this is what happens when you try to do philosophy by doing psychology instead [grin].

  3. Héctor Muñoz Huerta Says:

    Neat.

Leave a Reply

