Why I Don’t Take Summer Vacation

Most people like to take their vacations in the summer, but I prefer taking vacation in the winter. The reason is essentially this: The weather in the summer gets in the way of what I want to do as much as or sometimes more than winter weather does, but not in a way where I wouldn’t want to go to work either.

I took a week’s vacation in August once a long time ago. It ended up being the hottest week of the summer. But I had plans to do things that would involve a long walk, and you can’t do that in really, really hot weather. So some of the things that I had been looking forward to I ended up not being able to do. But at the same time, none of that stopped me from going to work (and, in fact, since I didn’t have air conditioning at the time I considered doing just that).

In the winter, weather like snow or freezing rain or extreme cold will stop me from doing the same sorts of things. But when we get snow or freezing rain, I’m also very glad that I don’t have to go in to work that day; the reason winter weather stops me from doing things is because it makes me not want to leave the house at all. Summer weather that stops me from doing things only stops me from doing things, but I could always drive out to work because it doesn’t impact driving at all. Thus, even if the weather stops me from doing things in the winter, I always feel that at least I didn’t have to go to work in that weather. That’s not true in the summer. And that’s why I prefer to take vacation in the winter instead of the summer.

One Response to “Why I Don’t Take Summer Vacation”

  1. What I Don’t Like About Winter … | The Verbose Stoic Says:

    […] is one of the main reasons why I’d rather take vacation in the winter rather than the summer. Having to think about the weather all the time bugs me, but when I’m off I don’t have […]

Leave a Reply

