Still more of my favourites …

So continuing on from my post last week, this time I’ll do AC/DC, Ozzy Osbourne, and Alice Cooper.

Starting with Alice Cooper, I have less of his stuff than I do of the others, who almost literally fill my CD collection, but there are a number of songs that I listen to frequently. “Hell Is Living Without You” is probably my favourite song, but “He’s Back(The Man Behind the Mask)”, “Teenage Frankenstein”, “The Great American Success Story” and “Poison” are also favourtes. And you should also add to that list “House of Fire”, “Bed of Nails”, “Only My Heart Talkin'”, “This Maniac’s In Love With You”, “Life and Death of the Party”, and “The World Needs Guts”. Alice Cooper is, I think, the one performer that I like where I like the songs that I, well, really shouldn’t like due to the subject matter and even the musical style.

I have a lot more of Ozzy Osbourne, and one of my best buys was getting “The Essential Ozzy Osbourne”, which contains most of my favourites, like “Crazy Train”, “I Don’t Know”, “Goodbye to Romance”, “Diary of a Madman” (which I just used as a character piece for Boomer in my latest BSG game), “You’re No Different”, “Rock and Roll Rebel”, “Mama I’m Comin’ Home”, “No More Tears”, “Time After Time”, “Road to Nowhere”, “I Don’t Wanna Change the World”, “Perry Mason”, “I Just Want You” (which might have been the Ozzy candidate to make the top 10 list), and “See You on the Other Side”. There were some others that didn’t make the cut for the essential, like “Revelation (Mother Earth)”, which also might have made the top 10 cut, but my absolute favourite song of his did make the cut, and is “Fire in the Sky”, a great song that also speaks to me and my personality rather deeply.

Now, to AC/DC. Aside from the aforementioned “Ride On” and “Hell’s Bells”, we have: “For Those About To Rock”, “Evil Walks”, “C.O.D”, “Night of the Long Knives”, “Spellbound”, “Dirty Deeds (Done Dirt Cheap)”, “Big Balls” (mostly because it’s hilarious), “Ain’t No Fun (Waitin’ ‘Round To Be a Millionaire)”, “You Shook Me All Night Long” (which was THE party song when I was growing up), “Thunderstruck”, “Money Talks”, “The Razors Edge” (which I always thought would be an excellent song for a Wolverine movie), “Are You Ready?”, “Got You By the Balls”, and my favourite Christmas song, “Mistress for Christmas”.

After “Razor’s Edge” (Helena Cain’s favourite album), we have: “Hard as a Rock”, “Cover You In Oil”, “The Furor”, “Burnin’ Alive”, “Hail Caesar”, “Safe in New York City”, “Can’t Stop Rock and Roll”, “Rock and Roll Train”, “War Machine” (my favourite from “Black Ice”), “She Likes Rock and Roll”, and “Rock and Roll Dream”. Which doesn’t include songs that I don’t have the CDs for like: “Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution”, “Highway to Hell”, and “Back in Black”.

When I first heard, AC/DC, I didn’t like them. But my brother did, and since he could drive and I couldn’t, I heard it a lot, and eventually came to like them, so much that they’re one of my favourite bands.

Leave a Reply

