Well, at least I’m not addicted …

… but I am probably at the point where it is reasonable to say that I really, really should find a way to insert some video game playing time into my life, because I haven’t played a video game in at least 3 weeks. Despite having my long list of games to try to play and finish.

The reasons for this are pretty much the same reasons why I haven’t posted on the blog in over a week:

1) It’s a fairly busy time for me at work, as I’m approaching one of those intermediate deadlines on my feature. At some points, my feature was going poorly, and now while it’s going better I still have to put in a fair amount of time on it, which means for me working more on weekends. This cuts into my free time.

2) I was sick a couple of weeks ago, and was still working roughly my normal schedule. That meant that my free time went to basically sitting around and watching TV while I tried to recover.

3) Around that, we also have some snow, which required me to shovel it, which not only cut into my spare time but just gave me more encouragement to sit around and read when I finished (it’s not intensely difficult, but enough that you might not feel like jumping up and running to play a game after doing it).

4) I recently bought the entire series of the old gothic horror soap opera “Dark Shadows”, which had over 1200 episodes. I started watching it. I like it. But if I watch it at a decent pace it will still take me until sometime in June to finish watching the whole thing. That’s a long time. So I feel some pressure to try to finish it. But I watch it on my TV, which limits the games I can play. Obviously, since the PS3 uses the same TV I can’t play PS3 games and watch the show at the same time. And PC games like The Old Republic suffer from being in another room and from the volume on this TV not really penetrating to there; I can see the screen if I look up but if I’m playing a game I don’t look, and I can’t even really hear the conversation with a game that was any sound effects.

5) The two games I’m pushing at the moment are TOR and Persona 3 PSP. Both of them require a bit of time to play, more time than I really have. It takes me about 3 hours to clear an area in TOR, and the dungeons in P3 have always required a significant time commitment to play. I don’t really have that in the evenings, especially since there are at least a couple of days where I don’t want to play games in the evening anyway. And the fact that playing a game right up until the time for me to go to sleep is a quick way to insomnia. Add in that I want to spend a good bit of time watching Dark Shadows and evenings aren’t that great for me. I could play the PSP while watching Dark Shadows, but P3’s dungeons take a long time and usually dedicated time to do, and are the worst part of that game for me, so it doesn’t work out so well. And I’d try the previous game, but I’m not sure it’ll be any better. The PS2 would work as well, but there isn’t really anything that grabs me on it.

6) I’ve been re-reading the X-Wing novels and some other books, which fits well into watching DVDs but not so well with playing games. And it actually fits better into watching DVDs than playing games does.

7) And some nights and days I’m just tired and don’t want to play anything.

But, still … at least 3 weeks without games when I have a list of the things I want to play. And took a look at Rampant Games again which has a number of games that look interesting and are reasonably priced. I really need to find some time for games again …

4 Responses to “Well, at least I’m not addicted …”

  1. Crude Says:

    In other video game news – Sony now taking some heat (substantial amounts? I somewhat doubt it) about how their PS4 reveal didn’t feature any female speakers.

    • verbosestoic Says:

      I saw the rumblings about that. I’m torn. On the one hand, it does seem like Sony could have found a female speaker to talk about part of the product, and if they couldn’t that probably isn’t good. On the other hand, creaming at them that they didn’t seems to be inviting the kind of tokenism — we need to put a woman in here even if the other people are actually the ones that worked on and know about the feature — that hurts women in general.

      Sony also doesn’t have a good record in terms of appealing to women gamers with a lot of their ads, so that works against them.

      For the most part, I think it’s something that might be interesting to note as being a bit odd, but I don’t really want to see too much heat over it.

      • Crude Says:

        Well, I watched the rollout. I don’t doubt that Sony could have shoehorned a woman in there if they really wanted to. But their speakers were all A) developers, with a skew towards B) hardcore action games that are C) graphically intense and D) are willing to have a considerable Sony commitment. Unless people are demanding tokenism – and I don’t doubt some are – I think it starts to become obvious as to why Sony would at least have trouble finding a female to fit that role. Though the tokenism would have been great – I could imagine fitting in someone from Popcap in between the Capcom dragon-killing video and the Killzone announcement. The only one who immediately comes to mind is Patrice Raymond, and they wouldn’t be getting her up there unless they locked Assassin’s Creed for the PS4 somehow.

        I also wonder – at what point does the blame start to fall on women generally? Not just, “Why aren’t more women getting into game development?” but “Why aren’t women game developers making games that appeal to men?” Does that question ever become viable to ask in any field (say, engineering)?

      • verbosestoic Says:

        That, I think, summarizes the problem. It’s very easy to look at a stage or presentation and note that there aren’t any women and say “There’s a problem”, but things aren’t that simple. For example, in response to your reply one could ask why Sony is promoting games that appeal to men as opposed to games in general. That in itself would be a problem. But then if they are trying to bring in developers that will show off the capabilities of the new system — or at least talk about it — and those games just happen to be ones that appeal to young male gamers, then it isn’t a problem at all, and we might not even have to ask why there aren’t more women making those sorts of games. So, we need to unpack a lot to determine if there’s a problem and, if there is, where the problem lies and what the solution is, but for the most part people prefer simple, obvious analysis rather than the deep and more interesting and likely more accurate analysis.

        As for the console itself, I might not buy it if it requires me to run a connection constantly to play games on it, and I certainly won’t get it until it gets a Persona game [grin].

Leave a Reply

