Now, I Love Dire Straits/Mark Knopfler But …

… some of their songs are about 2 or 3 minutes longer than they need to be.

I recently purchased a combo CD of Dire Straits and Mark Knopfler favourites, and started listening to them on the way to work. My commute is about 20 – 30 minutes. I got through “Telegraph Road” and the next song on one of those legs. “Telegraph Road” itself took up well over half my trip. That’s … a bit much, especially since for a lot of that time there wasn’t anything really new going on. And this is consistent with a lot of the songs on both sides.

It’s bad when I think that a song is too long (I’ve opined that “45 Seconds of Ecstasy” by Meat Loaf is about 1 minute and change too long, which refers to the whole length of the song). It’s worse when I think that a good song is too long, and some of the songs I really like on both disks seem too long when I listen to them while driving.

Leave a Reply

